

# Special Education Advisory Panel Meeting Minutes Go To Meeting Call Friday, June 29, 2018

Members in Attendance: Tammy Hogan, Lisa Hufnagel, Estee Aiken, Stephen Morsette, Michelle Halberg, Kyla Rock, Erika Wimmer, Heather Denny

Excused Members: Theresa Erickson, Corinne Turnsplenty, Josh Wigen, Robin Farrell, Wendy Studt

Non-Members in Attendance: Dick Trerise, Frank Podobnik, Dale Kimmet, Anne Rainey, Mandi Gibbs, Jenifer Cline, Marlene Wallis

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Michelle Halberg, Secretary. The Panel members and guests introduced themselves.

The Panel reviewed the Proposed Agenda; Erica Wimmer moved to accept the Proposed Agenda, Estee Aiken seconded the motion and the motion passed.

The Panel reviewed the minutes of May 3-4, 2018; Heather Denny moved to accept the minutes, Erika Wimmer seconded the motion and the motion passed.

### **Division Up-Date**

Frank and Dick informed the Panel that the U.S. Department of Education has determined under section 616 of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) that Montana needs assistance in implementing the requirements of Part B of the IDEA. The letter to Superintendent Elsie Arntzen, informing Montana of the determination, is a part of these minutes.

Mandy Broaddus, Administrator, Indian Education, last day at the OPI is today. Mandy will be a big loss. She has worked closely with the Special Education Division.

### **<u>Call for Public Comments</u>**

The Call for Public Comments was issued. There were no public comments. However, the chair will allow public comments during the meeting.

### **Compliance Monitoring Yearly Results**

Dale Kimmet presented the Special Education Monitoring—Student Record Review Findings Report. The report includes findings for: Timelines; Special Education Records; Referrals; Evaluation Plans/Reports; IEPs; Transition IEPs; IEP Amendments; Transfer Students; Surrogate Parents; Private Schools; Aversive Treatment; Suspension/Expulsion; Graduates; Exited Students; and Revocation of Consent. The full report is a part of these minutes.

Dale noted that the highest area of non-compliance was Transition IEP.

This year, monitored were 6 stand-alone districts, 4 cooperatives (22 districts), and 3 supportive programs. Next year, 10 stand-alone districts, 2 cooperatives (36 districts) and 3 supportive programs will be monitored.

## MBI Summary

Jenifer Cline reported that there were just under 1,300 participants attending the MBI Summer Institute. The reviews for the Institute were positive. The evaluations from the Institute will be analyzed for any changes that should be made for the 2019 Institute. Jenifer said there were 49 award winners.

Frank said it was amazing to get 1,300 people together to participate in the Institute. Heather Denny noted that the planning for a conference of this size takes a year and that the Institute was a great conference. Tammy Hogan echoed what others said.

### Early Assistance/Complaint Yearly Review

Mandi Gibbs reported on the Early Assistance/Complaint Yearly Review.

Due Process: No decisions issued; 6 requests were filed (3 dismissed and 3 still going).

State Complaints: 5 total filed; 1 still going; 2 settled; 2 reports issued.

Mediation: 1 Requested—Requested on 4/3/2018—success (reached a signed agreement).

IEP Facilitation: 9 facilitated IEPs

### **Election of Officers**

The Vice-Chairperson (Tammy Hogan) shall become the Chairperson of the Panel the year following her election if she is reappointed as a member of the Panel.

### Vice-Chairperson

Stephen Morsette nominated Heather Denny for Vice-Chairperson; Michelle Halberg moved to accept the nomination; Kyla Rock seconded the motion and the motion passed. Heather Denny will assume the position of Vice-Chairperson.

#### Secretary

Heather Denny nominated Erika Wimmer for Secretary; Stephen Morsette seconded the motion; Estee Aiken moved to close nominations; Michelle Halberg seconded the motion and the motion passed. Erika Wimmer will assume the position of Secretary.

### **Recognition of Outgoing Members**

The outgoing Panel members are presented appreciation plaques at the final meeting. Since our final meeting was a telephone conference Go to Meeting, they were not present to accept their plaques; therefore, the plaques will be mailed to the outgoing members.

Theresa Erickson—Private School Representative Estee Aiken, Ed.D.—Higher Education that Prepares Special Education and Related Services Personnel Stephen Morsette—Teacher of Children with Disabilities Josh Wigen—State/Local Administrator Wendy Studt—Part C/IDEA Representative

Dick Trerise informed the outgoing members that the time and effort they put into being a member of the Montana Special Education Advisory Panel were appreciated, as were the many contributions made to the Panel.

### September 13-14, 2018, Meeting

This meeting is an orientation meeting on September 13 for new members of the Panel and a refresher for the returning members.

### <u>Adjourn</u>

Heather Denny moved to adjourn the meeting; Michelle Halberg seconded the motion and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.